Logo-white Docs
Teams

Introduction

The permissions system available in Launchcloud has some impressive functionality. It allows you to control the level of access that individuals have, both to your information as well as the system as a whole. In order to segment users into groups according to their permission levels, you’ll need to use the Launchcloud Teams feature.

In addition to addressing the difference between the four Launchcloud team permission levels, this article also explains how to:

  • create a new team
  • add users to a team
  • assign teams to folders
  • remove users from a team
  • delete a team

Four Permission Levels

Launchcloud has four permission levels: Account admin, project admin, operator, and reports access.

  • Account admin has virtually all of the same permissions as the account owner. She is able to view forms in all projects, as well as add users or review reports.
  • Project admin only has access to forms in a specific folder. This allows a user to take control on a specific project without overstepping boundaries.
  • Operators are able to open existing forms and enter new information. This role is meant for field operators who are collecting data without reviewing its results.
  • Reports access allows a user to open a form’s reports, but they can’t carry out admin-level actions like creating new forms or adding team members.

Creating a New Team

To start managing your teams, click on the Teams button in the left sidebar. Launchcloud automatically creates four teams for you — one for each of the permission levels. However, let’s say that you have a new group of users who you expect to grow within your organization together and outgrow their current permission. In this instance, you may want to create a new team just for them. Let’s call this example team “Winter 2015 — New Hires.”

 

As with most Launchcloud pages, you’ll start by clicking the green add button in the top left corner. A popup box will appear asking you to enter a team name and select a permission class from the dropdown menu. Enter the information and click Save Team. You’ll see your new team was created. If you’d like to rename a team, just click on the team name.


Adding Users to a Team

Now that you’ve got a new team, you’ll want to populate it with users, of course. To do so, click the Manage button to the right of the team name.


 

This will open a sidebar with team information. Click the Team Mates button to launch a list of all users on your account. Check each user you’d like in the team and click the Add button in the bottom right corner. You can also adjust the permission class from this menu, and toggle the team status on and off. Be sure the status is in the on permission if you’d like to apply it to your folders.


Assigning Teams to Folders

What’s the point of creating teams if you’re not going to assign them to folders? To start activating permission classes on specific groups of forms, click the Folders button in your left sidebar. Then, click the Manage button on the right to launch a similar sidebar to the one we just discussed. Here you’ll see a list of all available teams. Simply click the grey check box to the right to apply the permissions for whichever team you’d like to add. (Note that the Account Admin team does not appear here. This is because account admins automatically have access to all forms in a Launchcloud account.)


Removing Users From a Team

To remove a user from a team, open the Manage sidebar, located the user you’d like to remove in the Team Mates section, click the red button next to their name, and click OK on the confirmation page.

You can also remove teams from all the folders and forms they have access to from the Access tab in the Manage sidebar.


Deleting a Team

Likewise, it’s quite simply to delete a team entirely. When on the Manage Teams page, check the box to the left of the team you want to delete and click the delete button that appears at the top of the page (next to the filter button). Deleting a team removes all associated users from any permissions they had; it does not delete those users from your account. To information on how to remove users from your account, see our support article on managing users.

close